No products in the cart.

Nelsi Pamela
How I Work as a Full-time Personal Trainer While Taking My NASM CPT Certification

Nelsi Pamelas Stats When We Talked with Her 💪

Dominican Republic
30 years
165 cm
(5 ‘5)
64 kg
(140 lbs)

Follow Nelsi on Instagram and Facebook

👋 Hi! Tell us about yourself and your training

I am Nelsi Pamela, 30 years old and from the Dominican Republic, at Santo Domingo City. And I am moving this year to New York. I am single and have no children yet.

I’m a full-time Personal Trainer and now I am doing the NASM CPT Certification and planning to take CFSC Costa Rica, June 2020.

I have a Bachelor of Business Administration, and worked in Telecommunications Companies and Vehicle Dealership for a long time, achieving the position of Marketing Coordinator for a few years.

I have been training weights since 2011, I started competing in 2015. It made me train the free hours I had after I left work for the university.

Sometimes when I could not put schedules close to the time of departure from work, I did not like to wait without doing anything productive.

In front of the university, there was a hotel with a gym included in it. When I investigated they gave us a discount for being students. So I didn’t wait any longer, I signed up and started training alone.

At school, I was in the women’s basketball team and currently, I am practicing gymnastics.

I love to sing and do Belly Dance among other dances, but currently, I am more focused on learning different training disciplines to put them into practice and specializing myself in some areas of Health Fitness Coaching.

I love cooking, reading, researching and watching documentaries. But I have never liked doing the same thing all the time.

What I like the most about bodybuilding is what the human body is capable of, how much we can transform it if we set our mind to it, to what limits this discipline allows us to reach and to respect how perfect it is.

My fitness friends are @YuyiForce05, @Gabigarcia, and @Anderfit.

⏱ Describe a typical day of training

Every program gives a good result, but I think that food is what gives us the most result.

I wake up at 5 AM every single day except Tuesdays. Tuesdays I wake up at 4 AM, because I have a client at 5:30 AM in the morning.

My personal training begins at 11 AM every single day, except Saturdays which is when I practice gymnastics at 12 PM.

I take my schedules according to what I want to improve at that time. After competing I do a phase of functional bodybuilding or hypertrophy training, then strength, then functional and currently performance training.

I train for not more than an hour and a half (this including the cardio). Currently my performance workouts last around 2 hours and one hour a week I practice gymnastics. I usually rest for a day every week (Sundays).

Now I am in the performance phase. My splits consist of power, control motor, agility, speed, coordination, etc.

Every program gives a good result, but I think that food is what gives us the most result.

My off-season bulking techniques is strength, then functional and currently performance training and some stretching flow.

My pre-competition fat loss techniques, practically lower the fat to almost zero but we use it for pre-show loads the night before for example or two weeks before to see how I react.

I train when I work but I also train in one gym for performance, it is called Optimum Sport. I train there because I am supporting a colleague to create his program for performance athletes.

Let’s say I’m his guinea pig. Besides that, I train alone almost all the time.

Before training, I prepare myself by foam rolling techniques, stretching and 30 minutes or 1 hour before my pre-workout meal. And after training, I do foam rolling, stretching, sometimes flow cardio and post-workout meal.

In my fitness bag, I have a towel, other extra clothes, soap, deodorant, skin oil, face protector, hands-free and an extra tablespoon of protein.

I have a cardio regimen sometimes consists of long-distance, 1 time a week or HIIT. I love Unilateral Squats or everything that involve a Unilateral Training which is amazing to me.

I use a Fitbit to measure my training. I keep my training log in my blog notes, in an app program or in Excel.

👊 How do you keep going and push harder?

Well, I consider myself motivation and inspiration for many people. I not only share my training things through my networks, I motivate people to be better human beings and to protect the environment.

Because of those things I receive daily messages of gratitude and admiration.

I self-motivate knowing that if I manage to train I will do better after training. Also, I don’t like being in the comfort zone.

One challenge I have faced was doing a physical workout with a coach that caused a lot of spiritual chaos.

A good relationship with your coach or the team you belong to is very important, healthy and helpful in your development as an athlete, coach, and fitness professional.

This does not mean that my coach was bad, but our way of being and communication between the two of us was not the best.

🏆 How are you doing today and what does the future look like?

A few months ago, I started a training experience for high-performance athletes to improve my performance.

At the same time I am doing a certification for the NASM and CFSC (The latter scheduled for June 2020, in the City of Costa Rica if COVID 19 will not suspend it).

I plan to move to the US this year if God allows it.

See also  How I Stayed Fit and Strong after Serious Powerlifting Injuriesjj

I plan to continue working and position myself as a Fitness Professional, entering competitions when I have enough experience as a bodybuilding athlete.

I would like to lead other people to achieve their competition dreams.

I think I have been learning little by little and I would not change anything at all. If I changed something, then I would not be where I am now.

🤕 How do you recover, rest and handle injuries?

I recover by constantly changing forms of training, I always try to invest time before and after training in my exercises: myofasial release stretching, static and dynamic stretching, and not least full-body mobility before starting.

This way I avoid injuries. In fact, I never have been injured, thank God, I think it is because I’m following this ritual.

When I travel I try to prepare myself mentally, but I’m not lucky, I try to take everything with me when necessary to avoid setbacks and stress.

Honestly, I am not very sleepy for many hours, I am very restless and because at night my mind is thinking about what I will do the next day, I am very bad at sleeping.

My colleagues say that I would be in better physical shape if I slept more and they have all the reason to think so.

I use certain supplements, such as:

  • From Nutricost: DIM, Turmedic, Rhodiola, and Taurine.
  • From Now Sports: Digestive enzymes, Probiotics, MS Powder, and Omega 3
  • From Kal: Magnesium Glycinate
  • From BriNutrition: Aswaghandha

🍎 How is your diet and what supplements do you use?

I currently consume daily calories:

  • 1800 (in season) from here down.
  • 2300 (season out), in proportions of:
    50% carbohydrates
    25% protein
    25% fat

I organize my diet myself, do my calculations and make the necessary adjustments, use Excel to carry out my plans and calculate them.

This proportion will depend on OFF days and training days, when I have an event out of my routine, I try to fast, or at most 2 to 3 meals, I stay hydrated. I do not drink alcohol.

I hardly cheat on the days because I hardly go out to eat outside, so when it’s time to go out as usual and with no regrets.

If I’m hungry or anxious, I try to consume a cup of coffee, sparkling water, and lemon or a little salad.

👍 What has inspired and motivated you?

I have always liked to experience myself what I have learned in any course I have taken.

Women’s Body Women’s Wisdom, Author: Christiane Northrup. This book is everything for me, my body, my shape, my characteristics, my history, my background among other human aspects. It has helped me to get to know myself as a woman and my female clients.

The music I listen to in the gym should be lively, not aggressive, so I can dance and be active.

However, many times I have used to listen to certain music that is not so lively and yet I am not demotivated, I focus very well on what I am training.

The best advice I have received: EVERYTHING HAPPENS, from my father and teacher, Juan José Rosello.

People I follow on Instagram because they are wonderful: Massy Arias and Natacha Ocean.

✏️ Advice for other people who want to improve themselves?

Do not waste your calories on empty macros, solid quality food is the best.

I would start in the Gym just as I started, without knowing anything and knowing that keeping myself moving was healthy and that it’s not only about getting a beautiful body.

My only recommendation for those who want to start in bodybuilding would be to read a lot about the pros and cons of the sport.

Take time to get to know yourself and go hand in hand with someone who have more experience, knowledge and above all who has competed.

I have seen everything in gymnasiums, mainly that people are going to lose so much time, and that they do not pay attention to whether their movement pattern is correct, nor their postures, footprints, or imbalances. A disaster.

I combine bodybuilding with other sports seasonally, and it depends on whether I’m going to compete or not. If I like something that I really like, I combine it with my breaks and periodization of my training plan.

The best trick: Do not waste your calories on empty macros, solid quality food is the best.

🤝 Are you taking on clients right now?

I am accepting clients, this is my passion and work, therefore, it is magical to help others achieve their goals at their health level.

Working with me is different because the most difficult part of this profession is educating your client and I really dedicate myself to that.

The goal is for them to get to know themselves, to work based on their lifestyle, history and so on.

That’s why we are bio individuals, each human being is different, responds to different stimuli, and that requires time as a professional.

Thank God I manage clients of all kinds in the Gym, online and I also go to their houses.

They always ask: Do you think that in 1 month we will achieve something?

My answer is: As long as you do your part and do everything by the book, the result will depend on yourself. But beware: I don’t do magic! Hahahahahaha!!

📝 Where can we learn more about you?

On my Instagram and Facebook.

I put my whole life there. I love to share content. I wish I could have more hours a day to upload more information and things about me and my day to day and my work, I just enjoy it too much, ha ha hahaha!

I am currently working on having my YouTube channel someday, but that is still in the process of personal evaluation.

Leave a Comment

Related Interviews